Home Page

Horton CE VA

Primary School

‘Learning, Caring, Exploring, Sharing’

  • Google Search
  • Google Translate


The Governors

School governors are volunteers who help to run the school. Most schools work with a group of school governors – together they are called the ‘governing body’. They are involved in decisions about all aspects of managing the school – such as running buildings and budgets, supporting staff and setting standards of school discipline.


Governors also help to make big decisions about the school’s long-term goals. They support headteachers, but also ask questions and make sure the headteacher is taking the school in the right direction.



If you are interested in becoming a governor, talk to the current chair of governors who leads the board. When there is a vacancy for a parent governor, all parents will be informed and you will have a chance to stand for election.


Before you put yourself forward, talk to your employer. Many employers recognise the role of school governor as useful work experience and may offer paid leave for governor duties.


Horton School Governors have now federated with St John’s Mead Primary School Governors and are now called Sodbury Vale Governing Body.


See below for list of current Governors


Sodbury Vale FGB Governors

Governor TypeName 


Appointment Body

Start DateEnd date
Ex Officio (Head)Nicola Berry   
Ex Officio (Diocese)Catherine CosterDiocese01.02.202228.02.2026
FoundationSuzanne ElmoreDiocese01.03.202228.02.2026
FoundationPatricia JessDiocese01.07.202230.06.2026
FoundationSarah LoveridgeDiocese01.03.202228.02.2026
StaffChristie BuchananElection via Staff09.03.202208.03.2026
Co-OptedSimon MorrisonFGB19.09.202318.09.2027
Co-OptedEmma GalsworthyFGB16.03.202215.03.2026
Co-OptedMark KenyonFGB16.03.202215.03.2026
ParentEmma ColeElection via Parents03.03.202202.03.2026
ParentJames MaillardetElection via Parents03.03.202202.03.2026


Governor attendance 2022 – 2023 

Nicola Berry9/9
Catherine Coster9/9
Suzanne Elmore9/9
Pat Trull RESIGNED3/6
Sarah Loveridge5/9
Christie BuchananLeave
Dave Craddock8/9
Simon Morrison5/9
Sarah Taylor8/9
Mark Kenyon6/9
Emma Cole8/9
James Maillardet8/9
Patricia Jess8/9
Emma Page (associate member)8/9
Alexandra Jones9/9



Horton FGB Governors up to 2022


NameCategoryAppointment BodyTerm Ended
Rev’d Canon David BowersEx Officio FoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Revd Catherine CosterFoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Louise CharltonFoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Michelle ParsonsFoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Thomas PoweFoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Patricia TrullFoundationDiocese28/02/2022
Nicola BerryHeadteacher 28/02/2022
Sarah TaylorStaffElection via Staff28/02/2022


Governor attendance 2021 – 2022 September to February


Rev’d Canon David Bowers3/3
Revd Catherine Coster3/3
Louise Charlton3/3
Michelle Parsons2/3
Thomas Powe3/3
Patricia Trull3/3
Nicola Berry3/3
Sarah Taylor3/3


The Governors at Horton declare the following interests


Register of interests




Business & Pecuniary InterestsGovernor at another educational establishmentRelationships with staff members
Nicola BerryNoNoHead Teacher
Catherine CosterNoNono
Michelle ParsonsNoNono
Sarah TaylorNoNono
Thomas PoweNoNono
Louise Charlton (dated 25/09/2020)NoNono
David BowersNo form received  
Patricia TrullWard CouncillorNono